A Misnomer If There Ever Was One

blue monday

I wasn’t feeling this way…but a lot of people seemed to be

 

On the radio and in the newspaper the powers that be have dubbed this “Blue Monday.” The idea being that this is the most depressing day of the year.   Really?  Today?  People who can’t get the weather right or even predict who will win an Oscar can somehow determine that today is supposed to be the saddest of the year?

Wait, it was scientists that determined this? Shouldn’t they be looking for the cure to cancer or AIDS or ALS, rather than trying to pinpoint the most depressing day?  There are a million other more productive things they could be working on (like a way to get around Netflix blocking Canadians from American Netflix).

I digress. Today was supposed to be the most depressing day of the year.  Based on my experience, that is a misnomer if there ever was one.  Today should have been called grumpy Monday, or grouchy Monday, or stop bellyaching Monday.  Everyone just seemed angry today.  Just getting off the subway was a chore since this was the first time nobody waited until all the departing riders got off first.  As a matter of fact, I didn’t see a smile or a kind word until a fellow commuter apologized for bumping me and dragging my from my now all too common sleep on the bus.  If not for that I would have been in for a smile free day–and since that was mostly an apologetic somewhat ashamed courtesy smile, I am not even sure it counts.

Perhaps this was a marketing idea like Valentine’s day, or White Day (a big deal in Asia).  The evidence is clear since even the movie theatre tried to get into the act by offering “pick me up romantic comedies” to the depressed.  Since they didn’t offer a discount and since most of that is available on Netflix, I am not sure who well that is going to go over.

I understand that everyone is getting ready to pay their Christmas credit card bills, and some people are worried about the upcoming Valentine’s day, but really, was today worse than last Monday? Additionally, if you are a depressed person, don’t you feel like they’re using this word a little too loosely?

I think I’ll stick with disgruntled Monday. I like the way it rolls off the tongue (not smoothly at all).

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in anger, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, commemoration, commuting, humor, humour, movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Misnomer If There Ever Was One

Leave a Reply

