A Good Cup of Tea

tetley 007

I wanted Today’s Perfect Moment to be mine, and even though it isn’t, I think it bears some introspection on my part, and hopefully yours. I can tell you….it involves liquids.

I made my mother a cup of tea. She took a sip and exclaimed something to signify her appreciation that this was “a good cup of tea.”  It might have been “yum!” or “Oooh, that’s good!” or something along those lines.  Apparently a good cup of tea is important to her.

It got me to thinking about how different drinks affect us and how different drinks have played a role in my life. Weird, I know.  Yet, when you get right down to it, I am not wrong.  Think about it for a second.

The best orange pop I have had was after a couple of hours working a dishwasher at Woodbine Racetrack. I was hot and dehydrated and I needed something to drink.  I quickly decided to have some pop from the fountain dispenser.  Maybe the syrup to water ratio was higher than normal.  Maybe we got a batch of “the good syrup.”  I don’t know.  What I know is that no orange pop, from brand name to no name has ever tasted as good.  If that isn’t profound enough for you, that was probably 30 years ago.

I remember one camping trip. We arrived late and everyone had already put up their tents and were into their beer stash.  My tent was not set up because I had bragged about my ability to put it up “in the dark and …. we’ll politely say inebriated.”  My friends decided to take me up on the offer.  Though I didn’t drink, I did manage to get the tent up and inflate my air mattress.  The beer that I consumed following that fiasco tasted pretty good.

I was in Japan and I met up with a friend.  He asked me what kind of tourist stuff I wanted to do.  I remarked that I have lived there just a couple of years earlier and really didn’t expect to be shepherded around to a variety of tourist attractions.  We decided to walk around Osaka and relieve some history.  We found our way to Osho and had a few plates of gyoza.  Needless to say we washed them down with some Japanese beer.

I should also point out that we walked around Osaka buying beer from vending machines and department stores.  This is not something I have ever done anywhere else and I must say that it tastes pretty good even though there is no human element involved.

This post has become somewhat of an elegy to drinks in my lifetime. Surprisingly, that seems quite fitting.  When I consider it, drinks are quite important.

On my visit to Paris, I became quite ill.  The doctor told me what I had and after consulting his antiquated dictionary, pronounced that I had influenza.  I was rather shocked at first, but when I realized it was the flu–something Canadians are all too familiar with in the deadly deep winter, I relaxed.  In addition to taking some rather powerful medication, he instructed me to take some fluids.  After checking out a small shop near our hostel, I came away with a glass container of apple juice.  It was a milky consistency that I had never encountered before, but it was delicious.  I put back about four of these before we left Paris for London (and that’s a whole other story of liquids that you can read about here).

drinks2.jpg

When I was living in Japan, my Australian roommate was having a little trouble coping with the cold.  After spotting me downing a can of hot cocoa from a vending machine, he decided that this would be his drink of choice.  The funny thing was that I mostly saw him clutching the hot cans rather than drink them.  When he turned in his car, though, there were an undisclosed number of cans found under the seat.  This didn’t seem to bother the company too much as the car’s previous driver (not me) had left an undisclosed number of One Cup Ozeki bottles under his seat.

As I reflect on this, there are many more “incidents” and moments I could write about involving post skating hot chocolate to Vodka lemon drops to cups of coffee. Whether it be champagne toasts or my friends Mad Dog 20-20, or Brittany’s every present coffee, drinks play an important part in our lives.  Now, I will just have to think how profoundly that is.

I am curious to hear if you have had any profound experiences with beverages, alcoholic or otherwise.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, beer, beverages, champagne, coffee, drinks, Japan, tea and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Good Cup of Tea

  1. windswept007 says:

    There used to be a drink in some vending machines, hot fizzy ginger, only in some. Myself and a friend wandered around Tokyo to find them, if we saw one we bought it and drank it. Fun day, weird day after all that sugar.

    • Anthony says:

      I saw a few YouTube videos about hot ginger ale….did you like it? Would you drink it again?
      I miss dekavita C the most. ….now that I think about it, I should have written about the night that it tasted more delicious than anything I have ever tasted before…maybe next week.

      • windswept007 says:

        It was one of those tastes where you are not quite sure. Hot and fizzy…do I like it? Let me try some more….. Well I don’t hate it. I guess the truth of the matter is that I have never drunk it again or looked for it.

Leave a Reply

