The Episodes that Put a Smile on your Face

I was watching my NHL hockey team (the Toronto Maple Leafs) get trounced today and decided I needed a pick me up.  Instead of turning to Netflix or Shormi, where I would have spent probably an hour going through the menu looking for something to watch, I decided to turn to my PVR and watch something reliable.

What did I decide on? There are some classic TV shows which are full of good moments.  I chose Family Ties and more specifically the episode where Alex and Ellen meet and start their romance.  It isn’t my favourite episode, but it is a close second.  It has a great combination of comedy and romance and it always picks me up.

I think I settled on this episode for a couple of reasons. Yesterday, I was thinking of Jay McInerey and his novels and remembered that movie with Fox.  I consulted IMDB and maybe it was subconscious.  As for McInerey’s books,  I have read quite a few of them.  Story of My Life and Ransom being my favourites ahead of Bright Lights Big City.

The interesting Trivia that I came up with is that Michael J. Fox and Tracy Pollan didn’t start dating until they were both in that movie together.

I am just wondering what my readers turn to when they need a pick me up.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, family ties, television, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Episodes that Put a Smile on your Face

  1. Anonymous says:

    The critical factor in choosing a pick me up is time available. For some reason, The Big Bang Theory, any episode, or even any few minutes of any episode, is usually enough to reset my brain. Especially helpful before trying to go to sleep. But, if time is not limited, A&E’s Pride & Prejudice miniseries from the 1990’s is the go-to indulgence. Approximately 5.5 brilliant hours – it honestly takes longer to watch than it would to just reread the novel – of perfect wit, drama, and romance.

    • Anthony says:

      I like Pride and Prejudice, but I don’t think I have seen the A&E version….which is odd. I certainly know it exists…..I probably meant to watch it, but never got around to it.
      I did watch an old black and white version of it once at a retro theatre in London (Ontario).
      Now I have something to do next weekend.

  2. Pingback: Near Television Perfection | Today's Perfect Moment

Leave a Reply

