When Life Gets its Own Soundtrack

garmin

Wouldn’t life be better with a soundtrack? Wouldn’t the perfect music add to the mood so well that your feelings and the events around you were bound together perfectly?

I am pretty sure each and everyone of us has had this thought at one time or another. Thanks to MP3 players, or the precursor “Walkman” or “Discman” we had, at times, the ability or luck to recreate that.

I remember encountering one of my deepest high school crushes while I was walking to a friends house. I had on my “walkman” (I have to use quotation marks because Sony owns the name walkman and it wasn’t until university that I had a proper walkman–the yellow one that was chunky and waterproof), and Led Zeppelin’s “Babe, I’m Gonna Leave You,” was playing loud and clear.

For most people, breaking up, or falling in love is full of soundtrack moments. It is amazing how much more poignant song lyrics become when you’re full of heartbreak.  That’s a story for another night.

Tonight had that kind of recreation. And before you even start nay saying the whole thing, I am not talking about hearing a good song on the radio.  That happens all the time some of the time.  I am talking when the music fits the event, when the music is so perfectly in tune with what is happening that you don’t even know it.

I had to make a serious drive this evening, just after the snow started falling and they were calling for icy conditions. The way wouldn’t normally be described as hazzardous, but this was no normal evening.  The sky was getting dark, the snow fell driven by the wind.  Already the road had acquired tire marks that everyone seemed to be following.  My car traction warning lights came on occasionally and the anti lock brakes had already made an audible appearance.

I pressed on, listening for the turn by turn directions from the GPS. When we hit a long stretch I turned on the radio.  I expected a Tim Horton’s commercial or some slip and fall lawyer advertisement,

Instead, I got “Riders on the Storm” by the Doors.

doors.png

My head started bobbing to the beat. The rainfall sound in the musical background fell oddly familiar with the snow falling.

See. Life can have a soundtrack.

See. Life isn’t always ironic.

See.  Today’s Perfect Moment can come from anywhere.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, driving, music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

