Sleeping on the Bus

sleepingbus

Falling asleep on public transportation has its drawbacks. These include missing your destination, dropping some of your stuff on the bus floor, which might mean breaking the item or forgetting it when you need to leave the bus.  Additionally, snoring or dreaming out loud might not endear you to your fellow passengers.  Nonetheless, most people seem to feel that the benefits, namely sleep, outweigh the detractors.

In my case, for years I found sleeping in any transportation difficult. I rarely slept on planes despite flying a large number of hours to Asia.  Falling asleep on the train, unless I had an actual bunk, and not just a reclining chair was pretty much impossible regardless of the distance and sleep deprivation.

Lately, I have found that the right set of circumstances will allow me to fall asleep on the bus. These include warm sunny weather, a certain amount of sleep deficiency, and just enough reading that is interesting but not tremendously gripping.

So, as you might guess, Today’s Perfect Moment was a short nap on the train. I fell asleep in the perfect position.  The sun was bright and warm and flooding the whole bus with its light.  Also, I was able to wedge my backpack between myself and the pole.  I was able to position my book so that it wouldn’t fall and actually support my left arm.  More importantly, when I woke up nobody was giving me strange looks.

I also must note that my little nap was an inspiration for at least one other passenger. Just after I woke up, she pulled her hood over her head, closed her eyes and drifted off, at least temporarily, to slumber land.

Your welcome.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, commuting, sleep and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sleeping on the Bus

  1. bribikes says:

    Hooray for short power naps! I accidently took a nap yesterday while trying to get two little boys I was babysitting to stay in bed. Oops! I guess my lullabies were pretty powerful since all of us ended up asleep 😉

  2. I can NEVER sleep anywhere that isn’t my own bed, and even then it’s hit and miss…!

Leave a Reply

