Opportunity Lost

apache

They closed Apache. I don’t know who they are, but they closed it.

It is gone. All that remains are the imperfections in the concrete or stucco showing the outline of where the letters used to be.  Soon, as some sort of renovation gets done, even those will disappear.

I shouldn’t be broken up about it really. I wasn’t a regular.  In fact, I had never been there.  I passed by the window once on foot, but wasn’t hungry enough to eat, so I kept walking.  The thing is, I wanted to go there.  I passed it everyday on the bus, going to work and coming home from work.  On the way to work, I didn’t give it much thought.  On the way home….that was a different story.

Maybe it was because it was smack dab in the middle of the two bus stops. Maybe it was because it looked like a place I should go with friends.  Maybe, like a lot of other things, I procrastinated too long, hoping fate would somehow place me there with the money in my pocket and the growling hunger in my stomach.  It never happened, and now it never will.

I am not entirely sure what kind of food they served. I was pretty sure it wasn’t food from the Apache tribe.  A quick search reveals some pretty delicious looking non specific Middle Eastern food.  As I write this, I am hungry and might have enough money to buy something….

This feeling goes deeper than this particular restaurant. It is really about missed opportunities and the perils of procrastination.  My life won’t be much different because I failed to eat at this restaurant, but I should have made the effort to go there at least once.  I should have gotten off the bus and eaten.  I didn’t.

I don’t want to linger too long in the land of regret. It isn’t a fun place to visit and really doesn’t do anyone a whole lot of good.  The present and the future are the only things I have control over..  However, the situation bears a little reflection, if only to prevent it from happening again.

There are some things I have missed in the last year. Going to Apache, missed concerts, parties and possibly an already mentioned romantic entanglement.  I’ve missed deadlines.  I’ve missed opportunities to shine. I’ve missed movies that should have been seen at theatres.

Exit regretville. Moving forward, I am going to do more of the things I want to do.  It might be selfish, but that’s the way it has to be.  Sometimes, selfish is good.

What do you want to do, but never find the opportunity to do?  Have you had an experience like mine?

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, changes, eating, food, missed opportunity, taking chances and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Opportunity Lost

  1. Anonymous says:

    Well

Leave a Reply

