Help Please

I just thought I would put this short appeal out there.  I need a couple of helpful hints for this blog.  These are technical things rather than content or readership questions

How do I add more things to the line that has “Home” and “finding the perfect”?  I am thinking about adding an “about me” and “this years books” sections, but I can’t seem to do it.

Do you like the new colour scheme and blog theme?  I changed it because on the previous theme the title was washed out.  I am not a particularly visual person, so any thoughts and advice would be helpful.

What kind of other things could be in the menu section?

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, blog, blogging, help and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Help Please

  1. Anthony says:

    Perhaps, I should put the first question on the forum….

  2. Reblogged this on HarsH ReaLiTy and commented:
    This is a common question. What you have right now is two tabs for your “menu.” A menu can include both pages and also “categories” that serve as active tabs. If you want an “about me” you may want to create the page first and then ADD it to your menu with your admin settings under appearance/menus. For the “this years books” you will do it differently. You want to create a new category with that name to add new posts to it as you do new books (I assume that was your goal). Unfortunately with wordpress.com you can’t easily add additional internal pages as active links, but there are workarounds such as this. Hopefully this helps! I wrote this as a reblog to help others as well since this is such a common question. -OM
    Note: Comments disabled here, please visit their blog.

  3. Tessa says:

    I hope it helps me. I have the same problem and its the same theme. I will mark this post so I don’t delete it and look at it tomorrow. Thanks OM if it works. Anthony could you let me know how it goes for you. We have the same theme and same problem. My new blog is a different theme. Might have to change them all. I made it a lot more simple than this one and I can still change my headers.

  4. I believe there are varied themes to choose from. Just try them out considering your title and other things. I also suggest that you should choose colors that won’t make the words invisible, so to speak- we communicate through words, so ALWAYS consider them. Also, I suggest that you should choose themes/or colors that won’t hurt your reader’s eyes. I’ve come across a site with bright background color, I immediately exit even if I want to read more of her posts, because my eyes were burning. Hope this helps. 🙂 I did not suggest any on the technicalities because I think Opinionated Man (Jason) commented it already. I had confusion too when I started. Just explore and discover and everything’s going to be great! Happy blogging! 🙂

  5. Reblogged this on CELONA'S BLOG and commented:
    Anyone with suggestions?
    Thanks OM!
    Your explanations were highly needed 😉

Leave a Reply

