Shopping Carts…a discussion

001

Food shopping today had me consider two things. These are not mind blowing thoughts, but rather some mental rambling.I decided to share them with you and then you could let me know what you think.

Nuisance Charges

In an effort to maintain their shopping cart fleets, stores have gone to some extreme lengths. Some keep their carts penned into the stores.  others demand that you deposit a quarter or a dollar for the right to use a cart.  One store even had the carts rigged so that they would lock and stubbornly remain still if taken off store property.  Actually, that was pretty cool when you think about it.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I get the idea.  I remember living near a grocery store that didn’t take such precautions.  Eventually they had to send a guy out with a pickup truck to scour the neighbourhood for the carts.  Most of them made their way to the bus stop, but some ended up in precarious places.  It does represent a cost to the store and I certainly wouldn’t want that added to my food bill.

coins

On a funny note, that same store later put in the cart deposit system. This one required a one dollar coin–that thing we call the loonie here in Canada.  Within two weeks, all of the locking mechanisms for these carts were broken.  I don’t know if the store did it themselves, or if the customers did it.  My gut instinct favours the latter.

Back to the point. What if you don’t have a coin on you?  You’ve got to trudge into the store and hope there is an empty cashier who can make change.  Perhaps in the future, these carts will either be unlocked by a fingerprint scan or an app on your phone.  You think we have no privacy now, imagine what your insurance company will say when they know how many potato chips you really eat.

Cart Size

It seems that carts come in two sizes: petit or gigantic. This is probably a good idea, but I am feeling like one of the three bears.  This one is too big.  This one is too small.  This one is just right… if indeed that one exists.

The truth is that I prefer the smaller ones. The unfortunate aspect of this is that I am not alone.  There are quite a few people who feel like me and they are usually better at getting to the store and snapping these things up.  After driving those small ones, the big ones (regular sized?) seem like tanks.

Why do I favour the small ones? Simple really.  I think I spend less when I take the small ones.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, grocery, opinion, shopping, supermarket and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shopping Carts…a discussion

  1. Sarah Warsi says:

    I’ve never heard of carts wanting a loonie deposited! That’s nuts! And you’re right – what if you don’t have any change – what then? Such an inconvenience.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Another problem is people not returning the carts to the station and just leaving them in the parking lot! Today, I found one mere centimetres away from my car. Ugh!

Leave a Reply

