2015 in a nutshell

the year in review.jpg

On the Blogs

First off, I want to thank everyone who visited my blog in 2015. Though I wrote slightly more than half the posts I wrote in 2014, I had twice as many page views.  While some of that had to do with pestering people on facebook, a big part of it was the WP community.  Thank you all.

Especially, I would like to thank the authors of the following blogs for inspiring me to keep writing and especially for commenting on my blog. In reality, there are many others, but they would take too long to list.  My apologies for keeping the list short.  If you have never read any of these, please take a look at them now.

Blissful Britt

My OBT

Bike Like Crazy

Despite lacking a bit of clarity on the direction of my blogs and my blogging, I quite enjoyed some of the things I wrote about. I got the chance to wonder out loud about my fellow commuters.  I got to take some trips down memory lane.  I got to share some of my thoughts.  There’s probably nothing more therapeutic than that.  As a creative outlet, I have really enjoyed it and I am glad to continue it.

Trying to double the number of views again is going to be challenging, but no one ever accomplished anything by aspiring to mediocrity.  To do this, I am going to have to write better and have better pictures.  The difficulty I find with that is most of my favourite writing, happens after I have had time to reflect on what has happened.  By that time, the chance for photos has long since passed.

While this blog has done well, my other blog has not faired so well. It’s readership hasn’t really grown and the number of comments has been rather anaemic. I can only blame myself for not writing better content.

On Life

The year has been full of rewarding and challenging moments. Though one should probably not try and mathematically compare them, I don’t really know what else to do.

On the down side, the eating habits that had been so successful in the latter part of 2014 did not carry forward to 2015 and I find myself back in the same place I was when I started. I also missed entangling myself in some promising romantic entanglements.  My workplace let me down and that will have some far reaching consequences.  Both my car and my coffee maker, having been with me for many years, are no longer functioning and have been replaced by sleeker new models–sentimentality and loyalty forbid me from seeing this as an upgrade.

On a much deeper level, 2015 saw a death in the family. Though mourning is over, this too has brought upon many life adjustments, and some sombre reflections on mortality and questions of how effectively we are using our time.

On the upside, I rediscovered my love of cycling. This started in 2014, but 2015 was the year I bought my bike, donned those tight bike shorts, joined a club and learned to love and hate the terrain in my area–some hills are just daunting.  I also learned a bit about nutrition, fuelling for a ride, and how to change a tube on the side of the road (twice in the same ride).

Thanks to recommendations from friends and a young librarian, I discovered some new authors this year. By the end of the year, I had consumed sixty-six books.  More importantly, most of what I read was fantastic.

The best of 2015 would include Jeannette Walls “Glass Castle”, Claire Fuller’s “Endless Numbered Days”  John Burdett’s Bangkok novels and Michael Connelly’s detective stories.

Luckily these authors have written more books and I have enough “want to reads” on my list that 2016 should start out nicely. I only hope the waiting list at the library isn’t too long.

Time spent with family and friends has been excellent. We’ve talked over coffee and other libations.  We’ve seen movies, talked about books, TV, life, dreams, history and even those same books.  We’ve shared opinions and carping moments, but I would take none of them back.

Teaching has given me some great moments this year. I have met some interesting people, and at times, raised the level of my teaching.  Students have given me compliments and, though they don’t realize it, they have taught me a lot of things.

The Year Ahead

I am really not one of those resolutions people. That’s not true.  I make a list of goals I want to accomplish in the following year–but I don’t think I am going to share them here.  I will let you know, however, that things seem to work out better if I just decide make something happen and do it.  The time of year is not important and setting numerical goals for reading books or losing weight don’t seem that practical.  Enjoying reading and eating better are definitely better things to aim at.

If I were to get vaguely specific (what a cool oxymoron that is) I would say that I am going to read some award winning authors, get back on my previous meal plan, drink less pop and drink better beer and improve my overall fitness and flexibility.

I am looking forward to getting out on my bike again this year. I want to start earlier and finish later.  I also want to try other forms of biking, like mountain biking (cross country and downhill).   I am also going to sign up again for that epic ride.  I will go a bit farther this time, hoping for better weather, but being better prepared if it doesn’t arrive.  I don’t know if I will top my highest speed, but I can try.

I feel great that there isn’t a lot of equipment I need to buy–this is easy to say when looking at a pile of snow on my front patio, but not nearly as easy when I am at the bike show. Hopefully I will be able to control my carbon frame lust for another year or so.

As for teaching, I am going to create some fantastic lessons this year. I am going to teach the ass off of the present perfect and conditional sentences.  I am also going to save these fantastic lessons so that I won’t need to recreate the wheel every time.

I am hoping to update my personal style this year with new glasses, other clothes, simpler accessories, and yes (some of my friends are gasping now) I am going to get a cell phone.

As for romantic entanglements….only time will tell.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, bicycles, blog, blogging, books, cycling, friendship, life, lifestyle, nightlife, reading, teaching, weight loss, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2015 in a nutshell

  1. bribikes says:

    Thanks Antony, you are very kind. I wish you well in all your upcoming adventures especially buying a cellphone 😉

  2. Margie says:

    Good reflection and here’s to the new look – Glasses and a cell phone :-).

Leave a Reply

