A Perfect Note

cello

I was walking through the subway station, heading toward my bus. The transit system licenses buskers to perform in these walkways, hoping that they will liven up the atmosphere and make enough tips to continue their artistic endeavours.  There are guitar players, harp players, banjo players, violin players and even some culturally specific instruments whose names I do not know.  There are good singers and terrible singers and people who think they are singing, but are actually talking–but they don’t seem to notice that, so I don’t rain on their parade.

Lately, they have been playing a lot of Christmas music.   Surprise, surprise.  I wonder if they get more tips.

cello2

That is where Today’s Perfect Moment comes it–but before you start predicting what it is, don’t be too sure because Perfect Moments are often a bit more subtle than you would expect. This isn’t going to be me declaring I heard the next Adele.

My walk is a few hundred metres (if that) so, there isn’t a long time to listen to these musicians. Today’s performer had a cello in front of him.  Since Lori Singer in the TV show Fame, I have loved this instrument.  I find it beautiful.  Besides taking up the guitar (because the guitar player is always popular with the women) I have considered taking up the cello.  I suspect that it is a hard instrument, and this assumption has lead to the rationalization that I will never become good enough at it.  As a result, I have done very little to realize this dream.

cello3

Today, I didn’t hear the cellist very much. He was silent as I passed him and then he only struck one long note while I was in earshot.  Maybe it was the start of a piece, or just him tuning up the instrument.  Nonetheless,  that seemed rather appropriate; it seemed ….  rather perfect.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, commuting, music, performing, subway and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Perfect Note

  1. Andrew Vance says:

    Dude plays at Sheppard-Yonge often…he’s very talented….in fact, I wonder if they are getting a bit more
    choosy about who they license..I’ve
    found that the overall quality of busking
    has improved noticeably lately.

Leave a Reply

