Getting Comfortable

canadagoose

Depending on who you talk to, the weather in my part of the world is either “quite warm for this time of year” to “where’s the snow already.” Whether you are hoping for frigid temperatures or enjoying what is happening, you can’t deny that it is warmer than you might expect.

What does that have to do with Today’s Perfect Moment? Fair question.  Today’s Moment comes from my commute, and it will take a little explanation to fully understand what I am talking about.

Like most some commuters, I walk to the place I get my bus. Although this can be a cold walk, I don’t often complain, and I don’t often dress that appropriately.  The bus is usually crowded with people who when donning puffy winter jackets take up about 50% more room than usual.  My thin layers are just an attempt to balance that out.

Today was not particularly cold, but I managed to count at least ten people wearing Canada Goose jackets. One person was completely bundled up with the hood fully pulled over his head and halfway down his face.  When I looked at him, I felt like he was in a cocoon.  I would have been way too hot, but he seemed pretty snug, like that bug in the rug.  Instead of wondering if these jackets were overkill on an as yet warm day, I just marvelled at people’s ability to get comfortable in what, for me, is an uncomfortable position. Marvelling done, I opened my book and began to read.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, atmosphere, Canada Goose, clothes, jacket, winter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Getting Comfortable

  1. Marta Frant says:

    “quite warm for this time of year” is what comes to my mind when I’m looking out the window. Winter without snow, particularly in the middle of December, is not what makes a perfect holiday season…

  2. Sarah Warsi says:

    I could get used to this type of winter. A year ago, people were slipping and sliding on the roads. The only downside is that I haven’t been able to sport my MooseKnuckle coat yet. I’m sure it’s coming though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

