Live and in Person

PEI3 014

For those who know, getting hockey tickets in Toronto is not without its challenges.  Although the price starts at astronomical and climbs to unheard of peaks, there really aren’t a lot of tickets available.  Word on the street (or any place the fans gather to grumble) is that corporate fat cats have swallowed up all the tickets and prying them loose would take an act of God.

Today’s perfect moment saw me live at the game in seats that are certainly beyond my financial ability, drinking beer so expensive that it must contain some secret ingredient or elixir.

What do I owe my good fortune to?  Good friends who know that there are very few things that would make me happier than seeing a Leaf game at the ACC.   They don’t even have to ask me.  Just tell me when and where to meet them and I am there.  I love the atmosphere of a live game.  I love the memorabilia of a time when the team was dominant, or when the team was full of the heroes of my youth.

Whenever I am there, and those are rare times indeed, I just love to soak in all the things that are happening.  I love everything from the walk past the ticket scalpers who have been using the same nasally voice to sell hockey tickets since my youth to the hot dog vendors to the team swag to the long line at the washrooms between periods.

Tonight’s contest featured the Washington Capitals taking on the Leafs.  Being a fan of a down-on-their-luck hockey team is not without its challenges.  However, despite their likely defeat, having a chance to go to a game is always a highlight for me.  Being with one of my best friends made it perfect.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Live and in Person

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Fret not, if anyone can turn your fortunes around, Mike Babcock can. He did well for us.

  2. I served my time as a Blackhawks fan watching some dreadful hockey. I used to go to games at the UC with only 8,000 in attendance. Hang in there. It does seem like they are starting to get serious there.

Leave a Reply

