The Price of Procrastination

renovations1 005

Have you ever had one of those tasks that you really want to get done, but just never seem actually get it done?  Maybe, there isn’t enough time.  Maybe, it’s contingent on getting another job done.  Maybe, it has been so long that you’ve learned to live with whatever state of incompleteness it is in.  Maybe, you’re just a born procrastinator.

I have a bunch of these small jobs around my house.  I want to get them done, but for the reasons above and a complete lack of faith in my skills, they have been piling up.  Realizing that I was not going to get these “someday” tasks done, I decided to hire a handyman to do them.  I got a bunch of jobs together, got some estimates and had the person come over and complete them.

Am I proud of myself?  No.  I wish I had more self reliance and a “get er’ done” attitude.  I wish I had more confidence in my abilities–because there are things I am capable of doing.  Instead, I chose the route of humility.  It is better to get the tasks completed than worry over them for even a second longer.  It may have cost money, but it certainly took far less time than if I had done it.  It certainly saved me from frustration and possible multiple trips to the hardware store to go and get that “one thing” I had forgotten.

Now, since one of them was getting my dartboard put up, I can at least play some darts.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in competitions, darts, hobbies, practice, Premier League, Prograstination, sports, tasks, work and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Price of Procrastination

  1. bribikes says:

    I am a pretty awesome at procrastinating as well…for some reason I thought that being an adult automatically put an end to the nasty habit, but as I have discovered, it doesn’t! It’s not fair!

  2. Brittany says:

    I find when this happens to me I have to write them all down, and just focus on ONE at a time. The only time I’m successful with procrastinating is when I have to write a paper. HA.

    • Anthony says:

      Like a lot of people, I have moments when I am really productive and moments when I am incredibly unproductive.
      If only I could schedule them to coincide better with life…

  3. Howto$tuffYourPig says:

    I am a huge procrastinator and have been needing to do some painting and odd jobs around the house. I have thought of hiring but I don’t want to have to spend the money. In the meantime, the list keeps adding up. I admire your resolve to finally get the stuff done!

    • Anthony says:

      I had to come to the realization that I wasn’t getting anything done. It cost some money, but at least it is done–and now I can start on my new list of procrastination….who’s kidding who, there are still lots of things I could get done.

  4. mollytopia says:

    I’m a firm believer that as long as it gets done it doesn’t matter who does it. It’s off your list, which frees you up to focus on other things. Like darts – yay! Congratulations on making it happen!

    • Anthony says:

      I am so glad that I did it. A bunch of tasks are done–I can finally hang up my towels–and I feel so much more relaxed. I will feel even better tomorrow when the recycling truck takes away all those cardboard boxes that was housing the stuff I finally got to take out of the boxes.

Leave a Reply

