A Cool Morning’s Brilliant Moment

trees 010

I opened the door to a pleasant morning surprise. Maybe I should back up a little. I was forced to venture out into what was a colder morning than I had expected. I was forced because the fridge was lacking the essential ingredients for breakfast. Fortunately, the Asian food mart across the street was open.

The market was bustling not only wish shoppers but also staff filling the shelves. Despite having clear objectives (also known as the shopping list) I decided to wander the isles a little. This is always dangerous because I have a tendency to fill my basket (no carts) with chocolaty treats from other countries–I might find something amazing or I might find that they mix chocolate with something horrible.

I had my eye on a few things, but I decided to give them a pass. One of those things was a bag of green tea kit kats. I love them, but the price is just a little beyond my easy justification/rationalization limit.

I have already mentioned that it was colder than I expected. I wore the minimally proper amount of clothing, which seemed to be less than the people getting out of their cars–but that’s another story. The wind was strong and I could hear and see it shaking the neighbourhood trees. I lingered a little on the way home to appreciate the effect.

That’s maybe why it hit me so hard.

When I opened my door, the powerful aroma of brewing coffee enveloped me in the way only that smell can. With the exception of fresh baked bread or cookies, no other aroma has that embracing power. It is kind of like coming inside after a wintry day spent outside to the heat of a fireplace. It’s kind of like walking into a bar to meet friends and one of your favourite songs is playing. I breathed in deeply, remembering that I had left the house in search of milk for my coffee; a fact I realized only after making the coffee.

What a wonderful thing to come home out of the cold to….and yeah, those kit kats would have gone well with the coffee–even for breakfast.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Cool Morning’s Brilliant Moment

  1. bribikes says:

    I love this time of year so much!

  2. BunKaryudo says:

    It is amazing how, if we’re not careful, shopping baskets seem to pull chocolate right off the shelves. It’s like magnetic attraction or something.

Leave a Reply

