Suddenly, It Has Become So Very Real

jersey 002Earlier this year, probably in the middle of March, I signed up to ride 125 km.   There were longer alternatives (165 and 140 to be exact) and there were shorter alternatives. How I settled on 125 is not overly clear right now. It was probably that it seemed quite long, but not insanely long. I probably also wanted to be able to brag a little…probably.

I was pretty excited about it all, but hadn’t actually been cycling when I decided that I could do it. In March there was snow on the ground, and I was probably still thinking about skiing. I signed up and went about my business.

I have done some cycling this summer, always with the thought of this “epic tour” (that is the name of the event, so it really isn’t hyperbole as much as it is sarcasm) in the back of my mind. Of course, being in the back of my mind, I hadn’t really committed the date to memory.

Last week I got an email saying that my registration kit was ready to be picked up. As with other rides, you need registration papers, a number, some sort of waiver, and of course the jersey. Suddenly, upon opening the kit, it all became really real. In about a month, I am going to have to ride these 125kms.jersey 001

For those of you who have been following my blog, I think the longest I have done is about 90kms. Being poorly prepared with food and electrolytes, that one became a handful, and saw me resting at the coffee shop guzzling smoothies and other beverages before completing the final ten kilometres.

I have been out since then, and I have more knowledge. I just wonder if it is enough. Additionally, as it is an organized event, there will be pit stops and transportation of shame for those who can’t make it. I don’t know what the pit stops will contain, but I hope food is one of those things.

I am a little worried because I don’t really know what the hills are going to be like. I have done some good climbing and some terrible climbing with my club. When I have the momentum, I can do a good job scampering up the hills, but the route might be more crowded and pacing could be a problem. I guess we swill see in a month.

jersey 003

This unassuming box contained the jersey, the forms, the number and a catalogue of interesting bike trips.

As far as the jersey goes, I had a choice of three colours and settled on the red after looking at the blue and yellow in person and thinking that the yellow was more of a neon green and the blue just didn’t do anything for my eyes.

Hopefully, I will get some good pictures of the event.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, cycling, exercise, fitness, lifestyle, nutrition, obstacles, organization, pushing, taking chances and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Suddenly, It Has Become So Very Real

  1. Brittany says:

    So exciting!! YAHOO.

  2. windswept007 says:

    Gambatte, before the summer break I did 117km. You can do it, the shirt is awesome, forget the butt, focus on view.

Leave a Reply

