Thoughts on Cycling

To the lake

This photo is from a couple of weeks ago–the ride in which I learned what bonking really means.  Since then, I have been more conscious of better hydration and nutrition–though, walking into any store to hear about that is sometimes like hearing the head Ikea technician explaining how to build the piece of furniture you just bought in a Swedish–unless you speak Swedish….then my whole analogy is shot.

Looking at this photo, I have learned another valuable lesson.  Don’t take off your helmet for photos.  I knew about hockey helmet hair, but failed to realized that the same phenomenon exists for the cyclist.  I am going to have to get one of those cycling caps and keep it in my bag.

This ride was to the lake.  It was about 35km from the official starting point–which is about 9km from my house.  We are repeating the feat next week–hoping of course that it goes better.

Today’s ride was a more sedate one, but I still felt stronger on the hills.  Additionally, we came across a lone female cyclist and I had a few moments to brief her about the club.  Sadly, my group was concerned that my slim arsenal of pickup lines really had nothing for the occasion. They urged me to be better prepared next time.

The Tour de France.

Post ride I got to watch the final stage of the race.  This was the first year that I watched all of the stages, and having cycled up some rather long and steep hills (nothing compared to theirs of course), I had a much greater appreciation for the race.  It was exciting and thrilling, and definitely grueling.  (I hope they guy who crashed from the Trek Factory Racing team is okay) I hope in the next few years I can go and watch a few stages of the race live.  It might be brief, but to see the peloton race by at those incredible speeds must be phenomenal.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in cycling, fitness, hydration, information, nutrition, Tour de France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thoughts on Cycling

  1. bl0ggle says:

    Your hair looks just fine.

  2. Brittany says:

    I need a bike!!!

Leave a Reply

