In Praise of Tire Levers

tirelever1

While I cannot rightly call them titanic, I remember the childhood struggles with flat tires. Little did I know that a couple of simple pieces of plastic could make all the difference. Little did I know that two little pieces of plastic would be so indispensable.

Truth be told, I am a big believer that you certainly can get by without having the proper tools (heck, all MacGyver needed was a Swiss Army knife and a role of duct tape), but having the right tool makes the job so much easier and while it doesn’t guarantee success, it certainly increases the possibility.

If you have read my previous blog, you will undoubtedly know that I changed two tubes on last Sunday’s ride. Since I also detected a bit of a sharp gouge on the inside of my rim, I had to take the tire off today to file it down. All of these changings could have been done without tire levers, but I am glad I had them anyway.

One of the fellows in the bike club wondered aloud (perhaps criticized is a better word) about why they sold tire levers in sets of three when two were sufficient–and I agree, two is all I needed for the activity, and I am a rookie. I guess, just like the two tablet plop plop fizz fizz of Alka-Seltzer, we are a victim of marketing. When they started selling them in sets of three, their sales must have risen by at least fifty percent.tirelever2

On a side note, a quick check on Amazon shows that the majority of tire levers do come in packs of three–unless you go for the rare (and therefore incredibly trendy and hip, despite being hard to find) Pedro’s. Those yellow beauties (yes, I am a victim of trendiness too) come in a two pack.

A Question about Tire Sizes

Today, while looking for electrolytes for tomorrow’s ride, a fellow cyclist listened to my stories of tube punctures (despite being shy, getting into conversations about bikes and cycling seems pretty easy) and recommended switching up to 25mm tires instead of the 23mm that I am currently riding on. He claimed that the switch benefitted him in fewer punctures. Since the two of us are roughly the same weight, I am considering giving it a try. I would welcome anyone’s thoughts on this.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in bicycles, cycling, learning, obstacles, Perfection, tools and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Praise of Tire Levers

  1. @shane says:

    I’m also an amateur but I think it depends on where you’re riding. If you’re not riding near construction zones then 23 should be fine. I have heard that switching to a thicker tire makes your bike go faster but I prefer thinner because of uphill climbs. You should try it out and see if it makes a difference. In the meanwhile, good luck!

Leave a Reply

