Omens Too Big to Ignore

goodbye Harumi 009

Before we go to far, I should admit that I am getting to the fortune cookies a bit late.  Technically, I bought a dinner for four, but far fewer people were involved in the consumption.  In fact, the remnants of the meal took quite a bit of time to get through, so it really should come as no surprise that the fortune cookies got lost in the chaos.  Perhaps lost in chaos is being overly dramatic, when in fact they were just casually flung aside and left on the kitchen table until I was out of other, more appealing snacks.  I wish I could have said healthier, but if I am being honest, that really won’t be true either.

I think a total of five fortune cookies came with the meal.  It could have been four, but I have a feeling it was five.  This information wouldn’t really matter except that it helps underline just how powerful this omen was.  I had already eaten 3 fortune cookies.  There were only two left.

I cracked open the first one, quickly glanced the fortune and placed it aside.  I did a few random things–checked YouTube, continued my blog entry on the Tour de France, searched for my rechargeable batteries, read some blog posts from the more prolific readers and a few other things.  Then, sweet tooth not being sated, I went back for the final fortune cookie.

And that’s when it happened.

I got two identical fortunes in a row.

I don’t think I can understate this.

Identical.  In a row.

I understand that there is a limited number of fortunes in any batch, but I would have to think the number is at least 25 or 30 different fortunes.  Never before in my life have I received two identical fortunes, let alone in the row.  Undoubtedly, good things are on the horizon.

 goodbye Harumi 012

On another note, being in Canada, things are printed in our two official languages.  I cannot comment on the accuracy of the translation (though it seems good to me), but I do wonder why the lucky numbers are different.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in incredible, Omens, Reflections, unbelievable, unexplainable and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Omens Too Big to Ignore

  1. Brittany says:

    Whaaaat, this never happens!! CRAZY.

Leave a Reply

