Paying Closer Attention to the Tour De France

goodbye Harumi 008

It is Tour de France time and since I have become a more avid cyclist this year, I seem to be paying much more attention than in years past.  Of course, it doesn’t hurt that coverage seems to be so much more extensive–though this could be just a reflection of my keener attention than anything else.

The event itself looks pretty phenomenal.  It is really inspiring.  A quick look around WordPress is clear indication that I am not alone in thinking that.  I have read (mostly skimmed and scanned–it wouldn’t be fare to call what I did reading) a number of blog posts written about the tour.  I am not sure that I will have anything more to add–but as I have started typing, I really don’t want that to stop me from saying something.

When I made the decision to purchase a better than average road bike, something of the childhood dream of being a bike racer was part of it.  While a few hilly rides had shown me that my ambition is long since dead, it really can’t kill it completely.  I may not be born to race, but I can certainly be an armchair racer.

Stage two of the Tour seemed to have the commentators quite impressed.  It seems that weather, luck, concentration, rule and format changes, as well as  a myriad of other factors has changed the planned complexion of the race already.  At times the TV announcers were almost shocked at the turn of events.

For my part, the scenery was fascinating.  I could hardly get over the number of roundabouts and the ways in which the cyclists were tackling them.  There was one at the 5km to go marker that I spent a lot of time envisioning the quickest route through–somehow the TV cameras managed to miss that part.

The Tour has started and I will be glued to my TV watching the recaps for the next while.  As for tonight, as I type this, I am sitting here drinking French beer from blue bottles–no one can say I am not doing my part.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in cycling, goals, Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Paying Closer Attention to the Tour De France

  1. windswept007 says:

    I was lucky enough ® to see the start and a stage of the TDF last year as it started in my home town. Both times I waited for 8 hours for a 30second glimpse of the riders. It was so worth it! The build up to them arriving and then seeing them power up a hill within touching distance….I am hooked for life.

Leave a Reply

