Questions Arising from a Walk

Bike Ride 8-24-14 041

A question for all you writers out there–published, unpublished, aspiring, would be, could be–whatever category you find yourself in.  I want to include everyone and anyone.

I took a walk today and without any music, I had only my thoughts to accompany me.  I started thinking about writing and how it has always been a dream of mine–and still is.  In addition to scolding myself for not applying more time and discipline to my dream, I wondered about the following question:

Would you rather write one (and only one) great novel and be known for it, or would you rather have a bunch of lesser novels?

I realize that this is a rather silly question.  All of us would like a slew of fantastic novels.  Also, people do not intentionally write a slew of mediocre novels.  I am sure when they submit them, they must think they are masterpieces.  Outside of deadline pressure and other financial considerations, I would never accuse an author of “mailing it in”.

Maybe the question is rather:

Would you prefer to be remembered for one seminal novel, or a series of less popular/less influential/ less critically acclaimed novels? 

I am unsure as to why this was cluttering up my brain.  Perhaps it was thinking of the news surrounding the sequel to “To Kill a Mockingbird.”  Maybe I was just preoccupied thinking about how my other blogs are failing to reach an audience.  Maybe I was just feeling jealous of writers in general.  Maybe I was just hungry.  Who knows.

It is pretty easy to Google a list of authors who only published one book, or who only published one book in their lifetime.  It is not as easy to search for authors whose whole body of work is eclipsed by one book.

The problem with writing one great book is that the pressure to repeat it would be intense.  The author would want to do it as confirmation that the first time was no fluke.  The publisher would want to keep that momentum (also known as the money train) going, and the fan would probably like to know what happened to those characters that became so important to them.

I hope I haven’t butchered this question too badly.  I have a lot of thoughts on this rumbling around in my brain and I have to let some of them out.  They are giving rise to many other peripheral questions about sequels and catching lightning in a bottle… but those will have to wait for another day.

Please feel free to share your thoughts.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Questions Arising from a Walk

  1. Michelle says:

    For me it’s all about being able to express myself. I love words. Writing takes so many formats and I’m content writing almost anything. If I get paid for it so much the better 🙂

  2. bribikes says:

    I am not an aspiring writer, but I love a good theoretical question so…

    I think it would be awesome to write a beyond epic story, with gripping characters that would change how people view the world. I would do it under a pen name, never reveal myself or write again. It is probably a good thing I am not a writer, huh?

  3. Anthony says:

    Sorry everyone. I goofed on the title originally and didn’t even see it. Ooops!

  4. bgddyjim says:

    I would love to contribute something to your most excellent question. Unfortunately, I’m smoked. Fried. Done. Long ride today, more than 130 miles in three days. Sorry.

    • Anthony says:

      Sounds like a great weekend. I won’t force you to contribute, but I wonder if, in your state of mind, that you just might have something profound to say.

      • bgddyjim says:

        Oh no. I’m not that kind of guy. Know thy limits, and when I’m cooked, I’m pretty much useless. I’ll try to come up with something in the morning though.

  5. Nice question, its more like counting your chicken before they hatch..no offence meant, I personally have given a thought (train of thoughts) to the would-be could-be stuffs, and in the end, I find there is no end to such thoughts..they say sow your seeds, without expecting the fruits..because most reactions of our actions are independent, otherwise, there would had been a universal law to becoming rich.

Leave a Reply

