On the New Bike

Finally, after dithering and making up a lot of excuses and finding reasons not to ride, I did finally get on the bike.  I kitted up and raced out into the world.  It was my first day on my bike (though I had test ridden it, it wasn’t mine at the time) and the first chance to go out and see what it could do–or what I could do on it.

cycling 006

Being the first day, I expect to wake up with a sore butt and sore legs–but I don’t care.  Once I start, I will wonder what took me so long to get on the bike this year.  The weather has gotten warmer and the most of the salt and sand have been washed from the road, so there really aren’t too many excuses.

The winter has been hard on me.  I’ve put back a few of the pounds I had lost and some of the cardiovascular strength I had built up by the fall of last year needs to be built up again.  In time, I am sure that it will happen.

I have joined a cycling club, but I think it is important that I get down some of the different fundamentals with this bike first.  I also had to time how long it takes to get from my house to where the club meets.  Wouldn’t make a good impression by being late would I?  I’ve got a lot of gears to play with and rather complicated shifting–to me at least.  Not to mention the shoes.

Today was my first day on clipless pedals, and like one of my favourite blogs Bike Like Crazy, I had an interesting time of it.  Fortunately, I didn’t fall, but there were a few scary moments–mostly trying to cross the road with only one pedal clipped in and the other foot desperately trying to find the clip in.

It had on my new cycling jacket and bibshorts, helmet and sunglasses (and the aforementioned shoes) and I felt great.  Day one is on the calendar, lets see what day two will bring.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, cycling, goals, health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On the New Bike

  1. bgddyjim says:

    In that situation, with only one shoe clipped in, looking to get the other seated, you can pedal with one foot to get out of the intersection.

    Glad you got out – and nice bike.

    • Anthony says:

      I should have better realized that I could power through with only one foot because I could pull on the upstroke–live and learn (living being an essential part).

  2. windswept007 says:

    That bike is gorgeous, I am very jealous. The front bag looks handy too. I haven’t tried the shoes yet, you are braver than me.

  3. PedalWORKS says:

    You are on your way. Have fun. Be safe. And, keep pedalling.

  4. Congrats on the first day. Keep it up, buddy! By the way, Bike like Crazy is also my favorite blog!

Leave a Reply

