Free Cookies Foil Frustration

freecookie1

These are the cookies they were handing out.

The other day (Wednesday) they were handing out cookies to people as I got off the bus and was headed toward the subway.  I passed two people doing this job and ended up with three cookies–one person had a strict one person one cookie policy, the other was a bit more flexible.  I wonder if they get paid by the hour or if they get paid for completely distributing their cookies.

When someone asks what kind of beer I like (it happens more than you might think), I often glibly reply, “free beer.”  As I was eating one of my free cookies, I was pretty sure that free cookies taste pretty good-not as good as my Mom’s peanut butter cookies, and certainly not as good as my Oma’s chocolate chip cookies, but pretty darn good nonetheless.

Today, though, really brought it home.  I had a late start to work, which while great, had lots of little annoyances.  One saw a person walk zigzag in front of me, causing me to miss boarding the subway and force me to wait for the next one.  The wait wasn’t long, but just the fact that the zigzagger got on the first train and I didn’t caused a lot of consternation.  Had it been a more solid looking person, I might have thrown a football tackle and made my way onto the subway car.

Whilst sitting in the subway car, hoping that the car in front would break down one stop past mine, I remembered the free cookies from the previous day.  I had only eaten one of them and should logically have had two left.

What’s better than free cookies?  Free cookies found when you need something to pick you up.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in goals, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Free Cookies Foil Frustration

  1. I too love cookies, free cookies are the best! You did so well just to eat one and save the others for later. That makes it even better. 3x to eat a free cookie.
    http://www.talkingtomyweightlosscounselor.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

