Advice sought from cyclists

sunglasses

One of the things I appreciate about my blogging on WP is that it seems much easier to get advice when I need it.  My other blog site does not seem to garner nearly enough response.

Before I start ranting out the injustices of life, I had better get to my question.

I am trying to decided on a pair of sunglasses to wear while riding.  What type do you the cyclists prefer–ones that change with the changing light (photo chromatic might be the term, though spell checker disagrees with me) or ones with changeable lenses?  I am not really looking for a brand recommendation, though I will gladly listen to what you have to say.  I am just looking for some basic pros and cons from you that I can weigh against the advice from the people at the bike store.

Thanks in advance.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, cycling, Perfection and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Advice sought from cyclists

  1. PedalWORKS says:

    I prefer interchangeable lenses. I have 4 lenses – clear, yellow, rose and brown. In the fall, winter and spring months I use the clear, fellow and rose lens and, in the summer when it is brighter, I wear the brown. My favourite are the rose and yellow. They get most of the ice time. Also, I have the kind with the 1-piece lens. Previously, I had a pair with individual lens – one for each side – and found them frustrating to change. Hope this helps.

    • Anthony says:

      Thank you. Your advice definitely helps. Every piece of information I can gather definitely helps.

      • PedalWORKS says:

        You didn’t ask for brands but I’m going to give you an idea. I have tried several manufacturers. The ones I have now and like the best and, are the least expensive are the ones from MEC (www.mec.ca). You can purchase them online and they only cost $25.00 + optional lenses.

  2. Dan In Iowa says:

    I have interchangeable lens glasses, but I’ve since lost the other lenses!! Since I wear glasses for my astigmatism, I just use my dark lenses. I also too easily damaged the other lenses all the time (I’ve had Tiffosi and Serfas, which is what I use now with my narrow noggin.) I’ve thought about the photochromatic, but haven’t bitten the bullet to spend on them.

    • Anthony says:

      The only financial difference I have found is about ten dollars. My current pair of glasses are some early 90’s Oakley Blades–funky purple in fact. I currently am thinking of either Ryders or Tifosi–but I am open to other options.

      • Dan In Iowa says:

        I know you weren’t looking at brand suggestions, but the problem I had with the Tofosi is the that the nose guards kept coming off and I’d lose them easily.

  3. bgddyjim says:

    I’m cheap… I have a pair of sunglasses and a pair of clear. Most important, to me, is fit. If they fit tight at the bridge of my nose, they channel the sweat away from the eyes so I don’t get drips in my field of vision.

  4. Mark says:

    I am with Jim. What I can get by with. I have a pair of clear safety glasses I wear in the dark mornings when I ride in. For sunny days I use either a pair of Dewalt Radius safety glasses that look like Oakley or a pair of basic dark safety glasses my wife got me from HD Supply. The dewalt have a slight tint to them and the generic are pretty dark. Safety glasses are designed to stop stuff from getting to your eyes I figure good enough for errant rock, branch or bug on the trail

Leave a Reply

