Going All In

going all in

Poker has made this phrase pretty popular, but I think it is more powerful when put to other uses.  For me, going all in means two important things wrapped up in my commitment to cycling this year.

The first is that I have set a goal.  I have signed up to ride the Epic Tour of Halton on September 13.  I have chosen the 125 ride.  This is their 3rd longest distance, and if indications are correct, it will involve some hill climbs.  This commitment is physical (obviously), financial (nothing in life is free–fortunately my foray to the bike show produced a small discount) and mental.  I am starting training immediately.  I might target a 100 km flat road fondo at the end of May, but there are financial considerations to this, and may be unnecessary due in large part to number two.

halton1


The second is that I joined a cycling club.  I consider this the more ambitious of the two things because joining a group is always fraught with stress.  Despite my occupation requiring me to be very outgoing, I wouldn’t actually describe myself that way.  Luckily, most cycling people I have met seem to be good people.  Apart from trying not to look like a complete noob the first few times out, I should enjoy myself.

All that is left is to work on my stretching program (more on that later) and get out on the bike…. and get my bike shorts….I always seem to forget that.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, bicycles, cycling, goals, lifestyle, self improvement and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Going All In

  1. bribikes says:

    Go Anthony! You got this.

  2. PedalWORKS says:

    You’ll be surprised. Once you complete your first long ride, you will want to do more. Good luck! 🙂

  3. Joining a local club was one of the best things I did for my cycling!

  4. bgddyjim says:

    Way to go man. Don’t worry about looking like a noob, we all do. It’s a rite of passage. I have a whole page dedicated to my transformation… Check it out, there’s a lot of easy “don’ts” to pick out.

  5. “Going all in” is a great mantra for just about any thing you do in life! Way to go! Goals and finding support for those goals (joining the club) are the best approaches to realize your dreams!

  6. Mark says:

    My wife and I are doing Tai Chi stretching. Seems to be helping and relaxing. You Tube is full of videos. If you want some for reference I can post on them. Good luck on the ride and joining the club. If I had a road bike I would look for a club until then I will just ride with my pack and the neighbors.

Leave a Reply

