Taking the Stairs

stairs1

Three things inspired me in late November to start taking the stairs.  One was a TV commercial showing the same person, one healthy and able to do routine tasks and one who wasn’t.  It was a vitamin add, but that really isn’t the point.  The second was a piece of advice a colleague gave me.  She said that it takes 30 days to learn a new behaviour.  The last was some article that said making little changes, like taking the stairs, can lead to big benefits.

Had I only took in one of these things, I would have remained my sceptical self.  I wouldn’t call it a particularly epiphanic moment, but I figured I might as well give it a shot.  The winter (and accelerated pizza consumption) has not been kind to weight loss goals so I figured I would give it a shot.

A couple on months on, I can report a couple of benefits.  It has definitely become a habit.  I take the stairs upward whenever I have a chance–bounding, if I have the energy.  It most of my everyday places, like the subway, work, library, mall, I take the stairs whenever and wherever the option exists.  The only daunting set of stairs is at the movie theatre–rather long, but doable nonetheless.

Generally, I feel a little stronger physically.  I really hadn’t noticed this until I put my skis on this year.  Usually, later in the day my thighs are burning.  No so the times I have been out this year.  It seems like I have targeted the right muscles–for skiing at least.  Additionally, it seems like my recovery from these trips is much better.  My body aches less the next day and is more resilient.  I would definitely call that a win.

I can’t report any success in the weight-loss department, but even I know that this is more a reflection of my poor dietary choices and portion control.  However, some people have commented that I look better.  This is strange because I am at least ten pounds heavier than I was at the end of summer.  Despite being a little dumbfounded, I will take the compliments where I can get them.

The next task is to take this simple advice to other areas of my life (as I did last year).  I will start making little changes in other areas until they become good habits.

 activity tracker

I would like to hear from people out there in WordPress land (or elsewhere) who are using an activity tracker.  I am thinking of getting one, but I have my reservations.  Do you find it useful?  Did the novelty wear off?  Do you have any recommendations?  I do not have a cellcycling computer
 phone, so whatever you recommend, it must be PC compatible.

For cyclist, I have the same questions about cycling computers.  Please feel free to add your comments.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in health, lifestyle, self improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Taking the Stairs

  1. PedalWORKS says:

    I wear a Suunto M5 Heart Rate Monitor (see my last post about the benefits). To my mind, this is the only way to track and measure fitness levels. I have a computer on my bikes to track speed and distance. I find it is helpful when I am out for a training ride. The problem is that it turns every ride into a training ride.

  2. windswept007 says:

    I use a fitbit because some of my friends do and it is interesting to see how we compare. I do like it and it does encourage me to walk more. It is also compatible with myfitnesspal which I use when I want to lose weight…like now, after winter.

    • Anthony says:

      Thanks for the comments. I looked at the fitbit zip today at the store…but I kind of figured that if I go that route, I should get a more complete model.

      • windswept007 says:

        Maybe, as you are doing stairs, but I find that in combination with my phone apps it is all I need.

Leave a Reply

