A Quest for Stuff

I wish I were constantly questing for the better me, but sometimes I am just questing for stuff.  Despite knowing that the better me would be a person without so much stuff, there are a few things that I have been hunting for.  There are things that I think are quite rare and/or too expensive that I figure I will never be able to own.

Typically I do not quest so obsessively.  I do not spend hours trolling the internet for stuff.  I search a few places and then go about my business.  That is not to say that I don’t take advantage of opportunities.  I keep my eyes open at garage/yard sales, and poke my nose into shops that seem to have a diverse collection of stuff.freight cars 004

One of the things that I had been searching for is the Model Railroader’s Guide to Freight Cars.  If you’ve seen one of my other blogs, you will know I have a fondness for model trains (not quite Sheldon Cooper level mind you).  Unlike many of the customers of the model shop, I really don’t have an encyclopaedic knowledge of trains.  I like them, but I can’t tell you a lot about them.  As a result, I am trying to “educate” myself.  And yes, I could probably find all of the information I would ever need on the internet, but there is something about reading it all in book format.  It’s organized, and meant to educate–books usually follow a learning curve.

The book in question has been out of print since I started getting seriously into this hobby.  The copies that were available were being offered at over $300.  I just couldn’t bring myself to pay that much.  I doubt anyone would, but the price hasn’t budged in years.  I kept my eyes open, but never came across one at an acceptable price.

Luckily, someone decided to sell one at a more affordable price and I jumped on it.  In one of the few instances where I knew I had to act fast, I did.  I haven’t had time to read it yet, but I have no regrets.

There aren’t a lot of things I am keeping my eyes out for, but there are a few.  I hope I find them at a garage sale, or thrift shop, or flea market.  Moments like that are great.  Most of mine are childhood toys, books or some form of memorabilia.  If I don’t find what I am looking for, I don’t get angry.  If I am not having fun doing, then it is time to leave the shop or sale.

How about you?  Is there something that you are hoping to one day come across?  Is there some great find you are hoping to land?  Maybe it’s a first edition of Ulysses, or an original coke sign, or….who knows.  I would love to hear about stuff you are looking for.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in books, goals, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Quest for Stuff

  1. Renee Duke says:

    I’d love to come across an English children’s book I loved as a child about a caterpillar named Caleb who was on his way to a party when a little girl called Penelope imprisoned him in a matchbox. Unfortunately, the cover was obscured by white tape (one of my barbaric siblings having damaged it before I came along) and I was too young to note the title and/or author, so it’s not likely I will.

    • Anthony says:

      I hope somebody reads this and helps you find it. Nothing is impossible, especially with the power of the internet.
      Thanks so much for commenting…and I will keep my eyes open.

Leave a Reply

