Shiny New Wheels

A big part of the better me is improved all around fitness (and hopefully more weight loss).  I had a good year last year by changing my diet and getting out on my bike more often.  I lost about 20 pounds, and more importantly rediscovered my love of cycling.  I also realized that I much prefer cycling to going to the gym.

As the end of the cycling season was upon me, I decided to upgrade my bike, rather than plunk down a lot of money to maintain my current bike.  Additionally, I wanted to get back to a proper road bike that would let me go a little faster.  Maybe I was just spoiling myself.

I did some research and visited most of the shops in my area.  I learned that there are several cycling clubs in the area and that they have a lot of evening and weekend rides.  Also, as you might have learned from my earlier post, there are quite a few bike trails in the area.  (I kept my mountain bike, but will need to get a new wheel…..and if I like it, a mountain bike also….someday)

I went shopping and found an end of season sale.  I put some money down, planning to pick up the bike in the spring.  I got a call a little earlier than I expected because the shop needed some space for the new merchandise, so…..

Voila.  My new bike.

CAD 8 New 004

CAD 8 New 007

Okay, I have already started the kitting out process–cycling shoes!

My cycling plans are pretty simple for the year:

  • Get kitted out (helmet, shorts, gloves,…..)
  • Re-pledge myself to what had been a successful diet.
  • Join a cycling club and go on rides.
  • Build a sleeker cycling physique.
  • Annoy some of you with pictures of me cycling down the road or scenery from that ride.
  • Find people to go on a longish bike trip in the late summer or fall.

 

Unfortunately, it is a little early (and a little cold) for me to go out cycling yet.  However, I have seen some people in my area out on bikes. I do not think they are crazy (more dedicated and ambitious probably) but I am not prepared for that……yet.  I also don’t really think the bike is suitable for that.  Check out some of my fellow bloggers and you’ll understand what I mean about dedicated.

Bike Like Crazy 
Martin is cycling 365 days

CAD 8 New 009

Quiet. The bike is sleeping.

 

Thanks to the bike, I am feeling somewhat ambitious.  I think it is going to be a good year.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, goals, health, lifestyle, self improvement, weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Shiny New Wheels

  1. PedalWORKS says:

    Nice post. Nice wheels. Good luck. There is no better way to make a better you than to cycle.

  2. Pingback: Weight Loss - Weight Loss Advice

  3. Smart wheels, happy cycling!

  4. bribikes says:

    Awesomeness, good luck on the new bike!

  5. Brittany says:

    What a good looking bike! Have fun with your new wheels! 🙂

  6. windswept007 says:

    Nice bike, I am a bit jealous. You have inspired me too. I am going to take a leaf and go out tomorrow. I too need to get back in shape.

Leave a Reply

