And So Winter Finally Arrived

Having seen some beautiful pictures taken by Celia in Tokyo, the two of us engaged in a short conversation about snow and snow covered cities.  Whenever I see pictures of Japan in the snow, they seem somewhat different.  I am not completely sure what it is.  Maybe it is the vibrant colours of Japan.  Maybe it is the very temporary and rare nature of snow in some cities.  Maybe I am just romanticizing it.  Nonetheless, those pictures always look beautiful to me.

At the beginning of winter, things looks quite beautiful and pristine.  However, as winter is somewhat unrelenting here, by mid winter the snow in the city looks rather grey and mucky.  The cold that I would have called brisk at the start becomes bitter.  The crunch of snow underfoot become a slushy mess and slippery hazard.

Yesterday it snowed quite heavily, after a relatively snow free January.  I awoke to a driveway that would need shovelling.  In fact, as the snowplough (snowplow?) waited until I was finished, I had to shovel twice.  I didn’t let any of this get me down, though.  I dug in and cleared my driveway, even helping my neighbour clear her driveway the second time.  I decided to take some photos to see if they would look as good as Celia’s.  I should also include her link so you can see her wonderful photos.

https://wordpress.com/read/blog/id/46949793/

These are some that I took  yesterday.  What that pattern on the glass is, I have no idea–but it looks cool.

new car snow and stuff 026new car snow and stuff 028

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in lifestyle, Reflections, words and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And So Winter Finally Arrived

  1. nicoledcn says:

    Hi! Just wanted to let you know I nominated you for the versatile blogger award, I really enjoy reading your blog!

Leave a Reply

