Omens of the Year Ahead

I wouldn’t characterized myself as the most superstitious person on the planet, but I do believe in luck, both good and bad.  So, how do I interpret the events that have begun the new year?  I had every intention of going into this year with lots of positives.  I was going to continue the improvements that saw such a great upturn in my life the last half of the year.  I was planning on writing resolutions that focused on what I could do rather than what I shouldn’t do.  As I said, everything was positive.  Even my most recent fortune cookie said “you will achieve perfection.”  I took this as a good omen, considering the original name of this blog.

However, something inauspicious happened.  I have no other way to say it.  My car died on the highway.  I don’t know how serious it is, but I suspect that it is terminal–or more precisely, financially untenable.  Happy New Year and welcome to some bills.  Just great.

I was driving, along with a friend, to my other friend’s house to enjoy the Canada Junior hockey game.  I was going to be the designated driver.  My friends often do this for me, so I feel as though I should repay the favour.  Breaking down alone is bad, but inconveniencing other people–think sitting cold by the roadside–is worse.  On the other hand, since I am the last remaining person on the planet who doesn’t have a cell phone, had my friend not been there, things could have been worse.  I wonder how long I would have had to wait for someone to pull over and let me used their phone.

Luckily nobody was hurt and I belong to CAA, so the tow was covered–and it was a long one.  Now all that waits is the decision about the car.  Perhaps I will know by Tuesday.  As for how this will affect my year…. well, today it meant walking to the supermarket.  The positive side of that I got some more exercise.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in goals, lifestyle, Perfection, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Omens of the Year Ahead

  1. johnnajay says:

    Will get better :))) I don’t use cellphones either actually…

  2. Get a cell phone. I arrived late in that game too and because I travel all the time by myself, I ultimately decided to get on board with a pay-as-you-go (buy minutes in advance) phone. Just having it on the open roads and remote places into which I venture alone (emphasize: alone) was peace of mind.

Leave a Reply

