The Road Not Lit

I’d like to set the scene for you, if I may.  I was almost ready to head to the bus stop to start the daily commute.  My coffee was drunk, teeth were brushed, lunch packed, book suitably bookmarked, vitamins either chewed or swallowed, cat fed, bus pass in my pocket….suddenly the lights went out and it was dark.  Not early morning, dawn breaking (no allusion intended) kind of dark, but still night, still cold, what the hell am I doing up at this hour kind of dark.

There are people, admirable people really, who are totally prepared for this kind of thing.  They can instantly lay their hands on the flashlight, or they have one of those lights that comes on when the power goes out.  While I have one of those lights, it isn’t plugged in to come on when the power goes out, and as for laying my hand on the flashlight…I can’t find the thing in broad daylight, how would I ever find it in the dark?  I couldn’t even lay my hands on the long lighter thing I use to light candles.

I don’t want you to think that I fell to pieces.  I just didn’t try to find any lights.  Instead, I dispensed the usually goodbye to the cat treats and then  I stumbled to the foyer and felt around for my shoes and got ready to leave as I normally would.  It was only a little more difficult than usual.

When I got outside, with no streetlights and only a few passing cars, I found the walk to the bus stop more contemplative than normal.  Some of the things I wondered were;

Why are the lights on, on that side of the road?

Will people really treat the intersection like a four way stop? (some yes, some no…sadly, the power outage really didn’t affect people’s horns)

Will my bus be on time?

Will the bus driver see me in my rather dark, non-reflective jacket?

How are this woman and her dog coping with the rather dark jog this morning (I only know it was a woman because I said good morning after she startled me appearing out of the darkness.)?

When I got home the stereo was on.  I hadn’t bothered fumbling around to turn it off before I left.  I hope the cat enjoyed the music.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in lifestyle, Reflections, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

