The Quest for a Better Pizza

pizza2

I’ve decided to make an early New Year’s Resolution.  The reasons for this are simple.  The first is that I need to get it down before I forget.  If I don’t commit it to paper….er, ahem, I mean screen, then it might get lost in the holiday shuffle, or even in my official New Year’s Resolutions list.

The second reason is that it is an entirely doable one, that has a big effect on my Quest for the Better Me.  The second reason is that I wanted to write something for the blog, but wasn’t hearing a lot of chatter from my inner voice.

The resolution is that I am going to learn how to make pizza from scratch.

See, I told you, entirely doable.  A little bit of googling, a little bit of shopping, maybe even a little help from people on WordPress, and boom, I should be able to knock this one off pretty easily.

What’s the big deal?  That’s a fair question.  You see, I love pizza.  Let me make it clearer, I LOVE PIZZA.  Have I made it clear enough for you?

Pizza is my “go to food.”  When I am happy and feel like celebrating–pizza.  When I am down, and need a pick me up–pizza.  When there’s a hockey game on–pizza.  I eat it at restaurants, at pizza places, and have pretty much tried every form of frozen pizza known in Canada.  There is at least one in my freezer right now….maybe more than one.

Obviously, this doesn’t really go with my reduced carb diet.  More importantly, there are probably too many preservatives and salt in it.  The Quest for a Better Me also includes a healthier me.  As a result, something’s got to give.

So, my idea is to make a healthier pizza for myself.  If anyone would like to recommend a website for a good recipe for an easy and healthier pizza, please let me know.

While I am on the subject of food and recipes, I would also like to know how to cook plantains–I’m not sure what it is about them that fascinates me, but for some reason I want to try them, but haven’t got a clue on how to prepare them.

Thank you.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in health, lifestyle, self improvement, weight loss and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Quest for a Better Pizza

  1. mschmidt87 says:

    Hey I love the idea of healthier pizza and I think the main aspect to make it healthy would be switching to whole grain flour and make the base thinner. Let’s not forget healthy toppings like half fat cheese, basil leafs, broccoli chicken, sweetcorn etc. and maybe fresh tomatoes… check out a basic recipe I used for my garlic pizza bread it could be easily modified… http://thescrimpycook.com/2014/11/17/cheese-and-onion-chutney-garlic-pizza-bread/

  2. Blueshade Tea says:

    Regarding plantains, I cook them all the time, I love them! I especially enjoy the sweet ones. Also, it depends on how you want to cook them, for example, you can boil them in water, with or without salt. The sweet ones you can boil without the salt, but that’s up to you. Experiment is the key… Lol…anyway you can also boil them with there skin on or with out. I usually boil the sweet ones with the skin because the real tenders ones seem to break easily. I also like frying them, just cut them in round sizes and into the hot oil. My mom boils them for my dad because she says they are much healthier, but I guess that’s up to you… You should try looking up on YouTube on how to cook plantains. Maybe you will find what your looking for… 🙂

  3. I have to eat grain free and I think that’s also quite healthy. There are a few pizza base recipes out there that I haven’t tried (like this one http://paleoleap.com/paleo-pizza/) but supposedly the best ones are in a recipe book I am getting for Christmas. I will experiment and share if any good. Then again, if you can eat grains and they don’t affect you, it’s probably always going to taste better with flour. 🙂 I look forward to the pics of your experiments!

Leave a Reply

