Freecycling

freecycle

What do you do when you want to get rid of an old television?  This was something I had to face this week.  Of course, I could have waited until e-waste day came.  I could have taken it to the special e-waste depot.  The only problem was that the thing still worked.  While that may not dissuade some people, it makes it difficult for me.  Despite it being an inanimate object, it served me well, and I did feel some loyalty to the thing.

When I told people that I had a working television that I wanted to get rid of, they asked if it was an LED flat screen.  When I answered that it was an old CRT TV, they wished me luck.  So many people told me that nobody would want it.  One person went so far as to dare me to try and sell it at a garage sale.  Time and time again, people said I should just throw it out on e-waste day and move on.

Taking all that into consideration, I sprung into action, put the television in the front hall near the door and promptly ignored it for the better part of a month (maybe more).  I hardly ever bumped into it and it made a nice place to put my travel coffee mug while I was putting on my shoes.

Deciding I should get my act together, I decided to give Freecycle a try.  For those of you who haven’t tried it, basically it is a place to give things away.  It isn’t a place to sell things, but rather a place to find a good home for things.

Within a few minutes of posting, I got an email from someone who wanted my TV.  With very little effort the problem was solved and at least three people were happy–Me, the woman and her son, who now had a TV to hook up his video game system to.

Though only a little clutter, it feels good to get it out of the house.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, lifestyle, Perfection, Reflections, self improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Freecycling

  1. biggs682 says:

    we use freecycle loads it always amazes me what people give away and also what some people ask for

  2. I freecycled everything in Sydney! i haven’t used freecycle here, but there is something just as good. A website for ex-pats who are constantly coming and going and needing each other’s used crap 🙂 Cleaning out feels great!

Leave a Reply

