The Students and the Snow

Christmas and trains 2013 047

While I sometimes (read often) complain about my job, there are obviously some incredible moments.  Mostly these are “aha” moments when the light bulb goes on in my students’ heads and the finally understand something that they have been struggling with.  Sometimes it is when they surprise me by using some piece of grammar or idiomatic phrase correctly.  Sometimes, it isn’t connected to English at all.

I am an ESL teacher whose students come from all over the world.  They stay for a few weeks, a few months, or even a year.  Not only will they learn English, but they will have had many new and interesting experiences.  The one that caught me by surprise, though perhaps is shouldn’t have, was there reaction to the snow.

Don’t get me wrong.  I am one of those people who loves snow.  Without snow, there could be no skiing.  However, I usually reserve my reflective snow moments for the day when the snow covers the landscape.  I find that beautiful.  Usually the first snow flurry doesn’t really make me stop and think.

My students are a different matter.  Some of them have never seen snow before.  They were positively transfixed this week, watching the flurry grow and wane in intensity.  They stood up mid lesson, with quite audible though unintelligible utterances, and raced to the window.  Suspecting I might protest, they reiterated their claims of never having seen snow.  Though I didn’t want to be interrupted, I didn’t want to deny them this opportunity.Christmas and trains 2013 045

It was like being a parent on Christmas morning.  I laughed, but I enjoyed it too.  There enthusiasm was quite contagious.  It was an “aha” moment that I was not responsible for, but felt good nonetheless.  We all need those moments, and going forward, I need to seek out those new and interesting experiences.  I need to feel that sense of wonder…. and I think I will.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Perfection, Reflections, self improvement, teaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Students and the Snow

  1. johnnajay says:

    Im guessing you are in Japan as well! 😀

    • Anthony says:

      Actually, no. I lived in Japan a long time ago–though truth be told, it has never really left me. I still read or watch Japanese news and I still actively search for things about the country.
      These days I teach English in Toronto.

      • johnnajay says:

        I see I see! Toronto seems nice! It is on my list of places to visit. Japan tends to do that to people. I know many who come here only for one week but end up staying for years. You must come back someday! 🙂

      • Anthony says:

        Without being too melodramatic–Japan affected me profoundly. I will be back there someday, of that I am quite sure. The only question is when or what will take me there.
        In the meantime, I will take great pleasure from your words and pictures.

        Also, thanks so much for your comments. I appreciate them.

      • johnnajay says:

        I am so glad that you like them!
        I will be looking forward to seeing posts about your Japan travels in the future!!

  2. Blueshade Tea says:

    I’ve always had a hard time with grammar… So my sister told me to write a blog about whatever I wanted and it’ll help a bit with my writing, which is what I did so hopefully I achieve that… By the way I do like your blog. I will try to catch up with them…and thank you for the comments…

Leave a Reply

