If You Snooze, You Lose

book2

In the process of improving oneself, the setting of challenges seems to be a common theme. Things like don’t eat out next week or drink no soda.  I make them myself, but I don’t make too many.  This goes against a book I read that stated you should set big challenges for yourself.  However, I am undeterred.  This week’s challenge is to only press the snooze button once…. hoping to get to the stage where I don’t push the snooze button at all.

The thing is, I set the alarm early, just so I can press the snooze button. Is counterproductive too small a word?  Maybe if I spelled it COUNTERPRODUCTIVE.  I really enjoy those ten minutes of extra-sleep, and pitifully short as it is.  I am even sure that I dream some really cool dreams in that short time.

Everything I have ever read says that it really is bad to use the snooze button, but I just seem to enjoy it. For the past two days, I have only pressed the snooze button once each morning and I must admit, those extra ten minutes have been quite useful.  I have been able to casually saunter towards the bus, rather than the mad dash I have been making recently.

In other news, I have started reading Paul Theroux’s Ghost Train to the Eastern Star. In terms of life improvement, this is part of a kill three birds with one stone strategy.

  • I have been meaning to read this book for quite a while, and rather than procrastinate, I decided now was the time.
  • I should read more challenging books.
  • I want to rekindle a love of travel and adventure.  I haven’t grown to dislike travel, but I definitely feel that inertia is keeping me in place.

Next week might bring new challenges, but in a small way, I am making a better me right now.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, health, lifestyle, Perfection, Reflections, self improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

