Procrastination in the Modern Age

PVR

The quest for a better me includes the drive to get things done. In my usual world, I like to put things off.  I am not talking about big things, but just those small things that don’t take that much time by themselves, but seem to add up to a lot of time when I finally got around to doing them.

I have to admit that TV is often the cause of my procrastination. It doesn’t help that the new TV season is underway and there seems to be a host of programs that I am at least slightly interested.  If something is on in a couple of minutes, I might choose getting comfortable on the couch over those other tasks–stuff like taking out the recycling, watering the plants, or marking some of my students’ papers.

With the PVR, things have changed….. kind of. Now instead of procrastinating my tasks, I procrastinate watching TV.  My PVR is getting full of shows I haven’t watched yet.  I think I have about 6 hours of Gotham that I haven’t watched.  If it isn’t good, then I might be able to erase all of them.  Who knows?

Technology has created a whole different kind of procrastination.  Fortunately, I haven’t figured out how to schedule posts, or else I could procrastinate writing this post.  Additionally, there are probably a whole bunch of emails that need answering, and other blog updates.  Too bad I a watching Hockey Night in Canada.

Realistically, a better me would just chuck the whole TV things entirely. I know that, but I am not ready for that yet.  Maybe sometime in the future.  For now, I might have to put in some quality time this weekend grinding out a few TV episodes.  Since it snowed for the first time this morning, that isn’t as hard as you might think.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in health, lifestyle, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

