Remotely Confused

remotes

I think I have too many remotes.

I’ve got one for the TV. I’ve got one for the cable box.  I’ve got one for the DVD player.  I’ve even got one for the sound bar.  That’s a lot of remotes just to watch a TV program.

When lived in Japan, everything came with a remote.  This included more than stereos.  It included fans, heaters and air conditioners.  It even included toilets.  That these controls were usually used with a foot or so of the device made no difference.  Though not remote, they certainly controlled everything.

This trend is pretty big here to. Every car comes with a remote door opener and sometimes even a starter.  How long before I can call my car from its parking spot to pick me up at the mall entrance.  Though this might be chaos on black Friday, it will be excellent during a downpour.

There are quite a few functions on my remote controls. I haven’t read the manuals  (I know, I know….. I don’t want to offend anyone, so maybe it isn’t a “guy thing”, but I’m only good for about 50% of all manuals) but I have gotten the hang of most of them.  Of course, maybe one can get my toaster to stop burning the bread and I just haven’t found it yet.

Looking at the stack of remotes on my coffee table (where there is no longer room for any coffee) I now understand why they have “universal” remotes.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

