September 10, 2014: Cue the Music, because We are the Champions…..

trophy2

These are not the trophies we are getting…but they are kind of neat.

Winning feels good. If you’re saying “Duh?”, I can understand the sentiment, but don’t let that keep you from reading further.

Tonight my team won the local winter darts league at the Legion. For those who don’t know, the Legion is set up to cater to veterans.  As it happens, the Legion also lets darts leagues play there, has pool tables, hosts dances, has euchre leagues, and sells beer cheaper than any place in Canada–Sounds pretty good doesn’t it.

The legion doesn’t run our darts league. They just provide the facility, hoping we drink enough of the discount drinks to help them out.  I am pretty sure they do well.

Back to my point.

trophy3

The Team Captain is getting one of these

Tonight, my team were winners. I wish I had been the one to throw the winning dart.  Alas, I was not.  I can’t say as I distinguished myself tonight at all.  I had a few good turns, but my teammates really carried the ball.  Last week, I was more of a contributor, but we were a team, and it was a team victory.

It was by no means a landslide, and it was pretty close, until the end. Watching our captain score the final double to seal the victory was great.  All the tension of playing in a final match was lifted.  Our moods brightened incredibly.  We had been winning all season, but everything came down to the finals.  We didn’t yell, but there were lots of high fives. 

 

What do the winners get? Bragging rights mostly.  Oh, and I think we get a Champions Polo shirt……which I may sleep in the first night.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Perfection, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

