September 9: State of the Blog

happy

I just liked the picture…relevant or not.

I’ve been writing about the day’s perfect moments for months now, and there is a lot that has become quite obvious.  If you’ve been reading these posts (or gone back and sampled a few) it might be obvious to you as well.  That is to say perfect moments seem to fall into a couple of categories for me.

Positive interactions with people.  This either means someone said something nice, like complimented me on my weight loss, or maybe a pretty woman acknowledged my presence.  It could also mean that someone said something that made me laugh, or struck me as profound.

Moments of calm.  These populated my early posts because I spent a lot of time looking for them.  I took more time to revel in them.  I suspect when the autumn weather and leaf colours abound, these may become more prevalent again.

Enjoyment of the normal.  We take for granted how good we have things.  We have access to food, entertainment, and knowledge that would astound our ancestors.  I include reading great pieces of writing (which include some blogs here on WP), someone on YouTube making me laugh (Today is was Kaydeanderic—-check them out when you can)

Celebration of growth.  Whether it be exercise, weight loss, or even just a simple change in behaviour–these are things I have deemed worth celebrating.  Having started riding a bike again, I really wonder why I stopped.  It has been amazing.  I just wish I had started earlier in the summer.

Today’s Perfect Moment.  As for today, there were two events that I found worth remarking on.  The first is that I arrived rather early for my conference, and took time to sit on a bench and read my novel, rather than rush in and deal with the pre-conference chit chat.  While getting to know my colleagues is important, so is taking time to read on a morning when normally I would be deep in teaching mode.  The second is that, despite almost being rush hour, the seat beside me on the bus remained unoccupied for the whole trip home.  While the paranoid might think this is an indication of deodorant failure, I accepted that the universe was paying me back for the time a couple of weeks ago when I had to share my seat with a mountain of a person who basically wedged me into a very uncomfortable shape.  Thank you universe.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, health, Perfection, Reflections, teaching, weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

