August 27, 2014: Playing and Winning

darts trophy

When I started playing darts I didn’t think about the competitive aspect of it.  I just wanted to play darts, meet people and drink beer.  I am not even sure of the order of those priorities.  Thanks to my diet, there has been less beer than I would have thought.  Luckily, I’ve been put on some good teams and in the winter season my team lost in the finals.

Tonight we started the playoffs for the summer season.  It started out rather tense.  We had to win 13 of 25 games, but we lost the first one.  We weren’t dejected, but we thought it would be a little bit of a struggle. We managed to take the next 11 games.  Then I had to play my singles match.

I’d like to tell you I was the hero and I won both of my matches and was carried off to the theme of We are the Champions.  I managed to win one of my two matches, as did my teammate playing on the dartboard beside me.  As a result we won and we will be playing again next week.

So, if I am not the hero, where is the Perfect Moment.  The truth is, the whole night was perfect.  It is so good to compete, so good to play for something.  You take things seriously, but still have fun.  You get mad at your mistakes but your teammates console you. 

While I wasn’t instrumental in our victory, I did contribute.  I wasn’t the star, but I was part of the supporting cast.  Best of all, we get to do it again next week.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, lifestyle, Perfection, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

