August 20, 2014: Basking in the Glow of Student Warmth

There is no greater moment for a teacher that to see a student succeed.  Second to that, and the source of Today’s Perfect Moment, is when a student compliments your teaching.  Your heart wells up, and you feel proud… and of course sometimes ego rears its ugly head–though that can be easily crushed too.

Today was one of those moments.  Perhaps because I decided that I wasn’t in a rush, or perhaps because I lingered near the activity co-ordinator’s table, hoping to charm her with my smile, I had a bit more time to engage students on their break.  Normally this is a moment filled with awkward conversations, and stock answers.  Today, though, it was slightly different.  Several students approached me to compliment me, and my teaching.  I think I floated back to the teacher’s room.

Now, before the naysayers start the ball rolling, I will admit that sometimes students are less than genuine with their praise.  Some might need a favour, some may want a laugh when my back is turned, and some might just want to feed that teacher ego.  The way I see it, I might as well accept the compliment while it is being given, rather than look for why it was given.  It might have been given for good reasons.  Rather than waste time trying to determine sincerity, it’s better to bask in the positive.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, health, lifestyle, Perfection, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

