August 19, 2014: Outside the Comfort Zone with Gnocchi, Beer and Friend

Italian1

It was an Italian restaurant, cleverly disguising itself as a bakery, with small tables in a series of rooms entered in from off the main street that I found myself and a friend in today.  The workday was over, but the city was still humming.  Seated in the back, beyond all of the rooms, under a blue sky, I could have forgotten I was in Toronto.  The car noise was far away, as if not to exist, and the space concealed things well.  Eating gnocchi, despite my no carb pledge, discussing life with a friend was Today’s Perfect Moment.

How I found myself there, eating gnocchi is in itself another story.  It is best summarized by movie plans falling through, chicken wing eatery being full, and the inviting allure of the bakery that turned out to be a restaurant.  The funny thing is, is I was really out of my element.  I am much more comfortable in a Japanese restaurant than an Italian one.  In times pasItalian 2t, one look at the menu and I would have bolted for the front door.  Instead, feeling very comfortable with my friend, I decided to let it play out. 

When it came to food choices, I narrowed it down to two.  Gnocchi was the more adventurous of the alternatives, and I went for it.  In times past, the restaurant alone would have offered enough variety that I would have chosen the easier path with my food.  On this evening, the safe side, held no allure.  I do not regret my choice, for it tasted quite delicious.

Sadly, the evening was too short, but fleeting experiences are always stronger.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, health, lifestyle, Perfection, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

