August 17, 2014: Reisting the Impulse Buy

tv1

My TV isn’t this old, but it isn’t much newer.

I have an old TV.  It isn’t ancient by any means, but it is nothing like new TVs.  It isn’t an LED or LCD.  It isn’t even plasma.  There is nothing “smart” about it.  However, like I said, it still works.

I am not sure I envy everyone with their huge flat screen TVs.  On the other hand, watching hockey and other sports on a huge screen would be fantastic.  It didn’t hurt that I came across a low price TV on a “no tax” day.  Not only was the price low, but no tax would have saved me about 100 dollars.

When you get right down to it, the problem was that I would have had to make quite the impulse buy.  Whenever I make big purchases, I need time to think about it.  I want to compare stats and reviews.  I want to do my research.

I tried to do this today, but couldn’t come to any firm conclusions.  In most of these cases, I would spend a lot of time fretting about it.  Something like this could really affect my day.  I could easily have blown the rest of the day trying to figure out what to do.

Instead, I resisted the impulse buy and “walked away” from it.  If I can’t make up my mind easily, it probably isn’t worth it.  They had lots of these TV’s left, so I might be able to get this deal again.  If not…. who cares.  It’s only TV.

I resisted the impulse buy.  I got on with my day.  Even though I might have missed a good deal, I am sure that this is Today’s Perfect Moment.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, lifestyle, Perfection, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

