August 16, 2014: Coincidences

Today’s plan had me popping around to a friend’s place for drinks and any merriment that might ensue.  I had the person’s address and phone number, so I felt pretty confident that everything would work out well.  The only problem was that I don’t have a cell phone and this person isn’t as yet hooked up to the lobby buzzer system.

I realize that there are a couple of things that bear repeating.  I do not have a cell phone.  I realize that is quite an anomaly these days.  However, I got along without one up until this point, so it’s hard for me to justify really needing one now.  I knew that I would have to contact this person before I got to the building, but I somehow managed to put that to the back of my mind, figuring that I would find a telephone booth somewhere on the way.  Yes, I said telephone booth.  I am pretty sure they still exist.  Don’t they?  I haven’t seen one lately, but….

I getting off the topic.  The topic is Today’s Perfect Moment.  Today’s Perfect Moment is the coincidence that saw me meeting people who were also going to the party a few a block away from the building.  This is despite the fact that we made no plans to meet and rather than proceed directly to the place, I had ventured off to the liquor store to find libation.

Perhaps these coincidences happen all the time, but on an overcast Saturday late afternoon, I am just grateful that they happen at all.  I would have looked pretty stupid waiting in the lobby hoping someone would let me in rather than call the cops.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, health, lifestyle, Perfection, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

