August 13, 2014: Hitting the Number 81

Today, I played darts badly.  Perhaps, this was the worst night I have had this season.  Since I am not really playing competitively, it isn’t really a big concern.  However, when I am not playing well, I think about quitting.  While there is nothing wrong with giving up something, it doesn’t make me feel good.  Fortunately there was a silver lining.

In my last game, I had 81 points left.  Normally this would take me several 3 dart turns to get it down to a manageable number.  I am not talking about winning, I am talking about a manageable number.  If I were a pro, I could do this with 2 darts.  The proscribed way is triple 15 followed by double 18.

I approached the line (the oche) and thought, it would be really cool if I could get triple 17, and double 15, but not really expecting to do it.  Surprisingly, that is exactly what I did.  I hit exactly what I thought I should.

I had pretty much figured I wouldn’t win anything, and I managed to win on a great shot.  My mood changed considerably.  I felt like I knew what I was doing.  I felt some hope for my dart playing.  It might have been a complete fluke, but it was awesome.  That was Today’s Perfect Moment.

The runner up to Today’s Perfect Moment is a conversation with a co-worker who acknowledged my weight loss, and spent time encouraging me.  I am pretty grateful for her kind words, and I will use them to power me forward on my quest.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, lifestyle, Perfection, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

