August 11, 2014: Some Music and a Farewell

MP3

This morning was one of those frantic, got lots to do before work kind of mornings.  I managed to get out the door on time and make it to the bus stop with everything I needed…. or so I thought.  In fact I forgot several things–several important things.

Before I even boarded the bus, I knew I had forgotten my book.  I was looking forward to doing some reading before work, but that was not to be.  I wasn’t worried because I knew the daily crossword from the free newspaper and the sudoku could kill some of the commuting time.  I normally do the previous day’s puzzle so that I can check my answers when I get to the office.  Sadly, I reached into my bag and the paper was not there.  I was left with nothing to do.

I stared out the window…. a lot.  I wondered about the pretty girl sitting in the row in front of me.  I even spent time trying to send out positive thoughts to the universe.  Unfortunately, this really didn’t seem like enough, and within a few stops I was bored.

In what could only be considered a saving grace, I had just charged up and packed my MP3 player with me.  Music.  I was saved.  Normally, if I actually remember to bring the thing with me, it is often not charged.  Today, I was quite lucky.  Lucky enough to call that Today’s Perfect Moment.

 robin1

Just before writing this, I found out Robin Williams has died.  I don’t have a lot to say about it, except to say Thank You for the wonderful comedy over the years, and thank you for some great (and undervalued) dramatic work you have done.  As a teacher, I am waiting for the day my students will stand on their desks for me.

 robin2

Captain my Captain, you will be missed.  Rest in Peace.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, health, Perfection, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

