August 8, 2014: Waking With a Purpose

alarm

GET UP!!

Yesterday’s perfect moment came about for precisely the same reason I didn’t write about yesterday’s perfect moment, yesterday.  Sound confusing?  Please keep reading and see if you can decipher it.

Yesterday I planned to watch something online that was scheduled for a specific time.  This was not something I could stream at my leisure.  With time on my hands prior to the event I chose the lazy path and slapped in a television series DVD.  I bought these DVDs because every time I watched this series in the past, I usually fell asleep sometime before the end of each episode.  I typically blame my work schedule, or the funny way every weekend makes it hard for me to fall asleep Sunday night–thereby causing a ripple effect well into Monday or Tuesday.  Are you following me?

Since yesterday was Friday, and it wasn’t particularly late at night, I thought I was safe.  I thought there is no way that I am going to fall asleep.  The television series I chose was also complex enough that it should keep my attention.

I fell asleep shortly after starting the series.  At the time, if I missed my online program (which I was responsible for writing about) I would have to wake up early the next day to see it again.  That really didn’t sound like something I wanted to do.

Yesterday’s Perfect Moment was waking up exactly in time to see my online program.  The realization that it was going to start immediately made me jump right off the couch and get to the computer screen.  The adrenaline surge was great enough to wake me up better than 3 cups of coffee.

After the program, I pushed play on the DVD while thinking about :The Perfect Moment.  After a few minutes, I was asleep again.  When I woke, I had missed another chunk of the show and decided that maybe I was really tires and should just go to bed.  So instead of writing about the Perfect Moment, I staggered off to bed in hopes of good dreams.

It is amazing how our bodies can wake us up at the right time.  I had a friend who didn’t own an alarm clock.  He told himself when to wake up every day and it seemed to work.  I rely on a two stage alarm clock.  The electrical one and my hungry cat.  The only problem with the cat model is that it doesn’t recognize weekend sleep-ins.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to August 8, 2014: Waking With a Purpose

  1. Nice one! I am definitely not one of those people who can wake up naturally. I need a symphony of clocks. I woke up 30 mins before the last flight to my best friend’s wedding (where I was bridesmaid) boarded. I only made it because I bribed a cab driver to all but fly me there. Great perfect moment for you!

Leave a Reply

