August 7, 2014: The Coconut Water Effect

coconut water

In an effort to improve my health, and make some serious changes in my life, I have embraced a new, less treat laden diet.  While this doesn’t mean I am going really hardcore at this, it does mean I am doing things differently.  It means that I am trying things outside my comfort zone.

This weekend I bought three things that I had previously turned my nose up at.  I bought almond milk and rice milk (chocolate version–see, not hardcore) and coconut water.  The two chocolate milk like beverages were pretty good–though no substitute for the real thing (in taste or price) and I might buy them again.  They are neither new nor trendy.

Coconut water, however, is all the rage these days.  I have had several people expound at length on the benefit of coconut water.  If not for these almost rant like moments, I probably would never have bought it.  Nevertheless, as part of my growth and expansion beyond my comfort zone, I did.

My drinking the coconut water is not Today’s Perfect Moment.  Today’s Perfect Moment is something entirely different, but closely related.  When I mentioned this today, during my lunch break, one of my colleagues–who is quite healthy and knowledgeable about nutrition, exercise and all that stuff that I know so little about, –shook her head, made a grimacing face, and said something to the effect that while it might be healthy, it tastes like ass.  You see, I drank it on Saturday after my bike ride, and my reaction was not at all positive.  So you see, when someone else acknowledges that something healthy and trendy tastes horrible…. well, just like the Grinch, my heart grew several sizes.  I felt vindicated.  I felt like I didn’t have to hide my dislike.  I know we should all be truthful and have power in our convictions, but I just figured it wasn’t worth fighting the converted believers over.  Now I know I am not alone.

Perhaps I should try another brand…. but it tasted so bad that I really don’t want to risk it.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

