August 4, 2014: Switching Behaviours

switch

There seems to be no end to chores.  There is always something to do.  That also means there is something you can put off.  I am not talking about something major that can’t be put off.  I am talking about some task that never gets to the top of the queue.

For me that task was changing the hall light bulb.  I kept putting it off for a variety reasons.  Sometimes it was because the step stool wasn’t handy.  Sometimes it was because I know I would need to get a wrench to undo the glass dome around the light.  Heck, sometimes, it was already night when I thought about doing it and it was already too late.  Of course, sometimes I was busy, but other times I just completely forgot until I was lying in bed waiting to fall asleep.

It would be great if I could tell you that it has only been a couple of weeks, but I am pretty sure it has been longer than that…..significantly longer…..I would tell you how long, but that would be embarrassing.

Okay, maybe it has been more than a year.

Whew!  That feels good to get off my chest.  While you might think relief at the admission in Today’s Perfect Moment, you would be wrong.  Actually, it is the joy of completing that task that had eluded me for so long.  I can now cross one more thing off the insomnia generating list.

There is a funny aside to all this.  Since I haven’t been able to use that light, I have stopped turning on the light switch when I come to the hall.  A few minutes ago, I went into the hallway, and rather than turn on the now fixed light, I stumbled in the dark like I have been doing for quite some time now.  I wonder when I will remember that the light works now.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, lifestyle, Perfection, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

