August 2, 2014: Back in the Saddle Again

 

pedals

This is what they mean when they say pedals

I spent at least an hour at a local bicycle shop this afternoon, maybe more.  I tried on some bike shorts, looked at pedals (they don’t come with the bike–who knew), and kicked the tires as if I were buying a car, rather than a two wheeled, self powered vehicle.  Based on some of the prices, I probably could have bought a car.

I learned so much and was so incredibly tempted to drop a big pile of money on a new bicycle.  I am somewhat afraid that my dreams and train of thought over the next few days will be dominated by visions of sleek, rapid and expensive glory machines.  Even as I write this my pulse has started to race a little.

On a positive note, I did manage to get on my rather neglected bike and go for a little spin.  I pedalled around the neighbourhood, gasping and wheezing at the effort of going up a small grade, but overjoyed at the ease of cruising down that grade as well.  My cardiovascular system really told me that this new activity is hard work, and maybe I should have packed some oxygen.

bicycle

A object of lust

One of the reasons I wanted to get back on the bike is my complete dislike (distaste, revulsion, irritation–I admit, I find it hard to some up my feelings about it, and even harder to choose the correct adjective) of the gym.  I know some people love the gym, but I do not.  Maybe, I could learn to love it over time, but I kind of doubt it.  I might have no choice come winter, but until then, I hope I can get out on the bike a lot more.

Today’s ride, regardless of how short, and regardless of how fraught with danger (I crashed into a chain link fence in a catwalk–just minor scrapes and one possible bruise), I loved it.  It reminded me of my mid to  late teens when, having no car, I cycled everywhere.  I don’t have those young legs, or lungs anymore but I know Today’s Perfect Moment when I am in middle of it.  Speed, wind, danger and bugs.  What more could you ask for.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

