July 31, 2014: Making Choices

bus delay

It’s easy to get wrapped up in decisions.  It’s easy to think that even trivial decisions can have far reaching consequences.  Maybe it isn’t easy, but sometimes I really do feel that making the right or wrong decision can really affect things.  Today’s Perfect Moment revolves around a choice I made today.

I should start off by saying that I can sometimes be confused by decisions.  I am not talking about the big decisions, but rather the small ones.  It’s easy to see that big decisions have big consequences.  If you change your job, or your country, things are not going to be the same.  Hopefully, you’ve chosen well and your life is better.

The little ones are the tricky ones.  At restaurants, I can usually narrow down what I want to two items.  Then the fun begins as I agonize over which one to choose.  I am learning that making the wrong choice won’t ruin my meal, but it still isn’t easy yet.  Stopping to take a look at something on my way to the bus stop could result in me missing the bus.  And, honestly, there are few things more frustrating than missing your bus by seconds.

This is where Today’s Perfect Moment comes in.  Today, I had to make a choice.  It wasn’t a huge choice, but had I made the wrong choice, I would have been rather angry with myself.  Luckily, I made the right choice.

On my long commute, my bus got stuck behind a traffic jam that eventually showed itself to be a car accident, complete with fire trucks, tow trucks, police cars and other emergency vehicles.  We were told to wait.  Then we were given the option to walk to the next stop, where hopefully some other buses, which had been diverted around the accident, would pick us up.  I could see confusion on peoples faces.  They weren’t sure if they should walk or wait.  I was torn, but only for a second.  I grabbed my stuff and started walking.

The rest of the story isn’t exciting.  A overly full bus ride later, I made it home.  The Perfect Moment in all of this is the quick and resolute decision making.  I didn’t agonize.  I didn’t regret my choice.  I felt strong and in control.  I think perhaps I am being influenced by some of the books I am reading right now.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to July 31, 2014: Making Choices

  1. I tried to post earlier but it failed – sorry if you get this twice! I love this perfect moment. I spend way too long stressed about public transport and I live in the city with the best system!

  2. Great post. I’m learning to pay as much attention to small decisions as I would the big ones. Big decisions are rear and far apart but we make small ones all the time. And they add up.

    It’s the little foxes that spoil the vine.

Leave a Reply

